Padella, Borough Market, London.

I had read lots about Padella, (including this excellent review from Marina O’Loughlin in the Guardian) a small no-bookings pasta restaurant in Borough Market, and as I was meeting friends for drinks along the river, it seemed like the perfect place for a quick bite to eat en-route.

The menu is short, but oh my goodness, I could have eaten literally every dish on it, from Pici with Marjoram & Golden Garlic ($6.50) to Tagliarini with Dorset Crab, Chilli & Lemon ($12) but I was eventually swayed by the Tagliatelle with Nduja, Marscapone & Parsley ($5.50) as it was nearing the end of my time in Europe and whilst seafood is common in Myanmar, good quality Nduja remains as rare as hens teeth.

After sipping on on a Spritz ($6.50) I decided to start with Burrata with Puglian Olive Oil ($5 – less than an average mozzarella in the supermarket here) and some homemade Padella Sourdough Bread ($2) to mop up all the lovely creamy, gooey burrata insides with.

I always love sitting at an open kitchen counter and watching the chefs work, yes it’s a bit of a busman’s holiday for me I know! I really enjoy watching people who are talented and passionate about what they do and the team at Padella certainly seemed to be enjoying themselves too which made the whole experience very fun indeed.

My pasta, yes there is pasta under that MOUNTAIN of parmesan! Well you can see for yourself just how good it looked and you will just have to take my word for how delicious it was! The pasta was perfectly al dente, as you would expect, and the fiery nduja, combined with creaminess of the ricotta, was heavenly. Added to the fact that the feathery shavings of parmesan sort of melted into the sauce as you ate, it was absolutely one of the best pasta dishes I have ever eaten and I scraped the sauce off the plate with the last remaining pieces of sourdough, trying to prolong the enjoyment as long as possible.

Padella is the perfect place for lunch if you are visiting Borough market, portion sizes are relatively dainty so you could easily have a couple of courses and not be too full, no-one wants to go into a carb coma after lunch thats for sure! The no booking policy means that you will often have to queue but I would really recommend sticking the wait out as it is totally worth it and I cant wait to return next time I am in the UK!

6 Southwark Street
London
SE1 1TQ
Monday to Saturday 12:00 – 16:00 & 17:00 – 22:00
Sunday 12:00 – 17:00

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Carb recommendations are my favourite type of recommendations! Sounds perfect! x

    1. beirutibrit says:

      So delicious Amy – you’d love it!

Leave a Reply

