The Plantation Hotel, Phnom Penh

Whilst the Plantation is a little bit pricier than some of the other hotels I have stayed at in Phnom Penh, it is absolutely worth it and having stayed there once, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the City.

The hotel is based around a large internal courtyard, where they hold regular art showcases, with the a beautiful main reception building that dates back to the 1930’s. It is believed to have been initially built by the French as an administrative office,  before becoming the Ministry of Labour in the 1960’s.

Rooms range from around $100-$300 however big discounts are available both on their website as well as online booking agents like booking.com and I was able to book their “Superior Single” for just $80, including breakfast, which I thought was great value for such a beautiful property.

My room was lovely and airy with a powerful aircon unit (so important right now, Cambodia is literally a furnace at the moment) as well as a fan over the bed and I liked the bright, modern design as well as the sense of space owing to the open plan bathroom.

The swimming pool was a wonderful surprise, I hadn’t been expecting it to look as good as it does in their online photos but it absolutely did and I cursed myself for forgetting my swimming costume! I did manage to enjoy some time relaxing by the pool with a book which was a lovely break from the hectic city outside.

Breakfast offered a good range of both Western and Asian dishes and the poolside restaurant is the perfect location to start your day.

I found the staff across the hotel to be both helpful and charming, they assisted me with several issues from urgent colour photocopies of my passport, to helping to book city tours, as well as that all important iPhone charger when I realised my plug was a dud, rendering my charger effectively useless.

I’m already planning my next stay at the hotel and looking forward to going back!

Leave a Reply

