The Hive, Siem Reap, 3 Day Mega Juice Cleanse.

Whilst I have never been the slimmest of people (I’m fragile right now people, be gentle with me!) it has been impossible not to notice the weight slowly creeping on over the past few years, and by the end of last year I had gained some 20kgs from when I had last weighed myself.

Realising enough was enough, I signed up to a friends online weight loss group (it is so much easier to do these things with the support of a friend!) and with a combination of  eating more healthily and drinking less alcohol, I have lost over 10kgs in the past 5 weeks. I decided to capitalise on this and try to boost my overall health (not to mention increase vitamin intake) by FINALLY getting around to doing one of the many juice cleanses offered by The Hive, one of my favourite cafes here in Siem Reap.

There are 3 different types of Juice programs available, where you replace 1, 2 or 3 meals a day, for anything from 1-7days. Not wanting to set myself up to fail, I thought it would be best to stick with a 3 meal, 3 day “Mega Cleanse” which comprises 6 cold pressed juices each day.

Routine is important when doing juice cleanses such as this, as I found when I did the Me:Juice cleanse in Bangkok, http://wp.me/p2spY3-1M7 and so I decided I would pick up my first 2 juices at 7am, ready for the morning ahead, and have the other juices delivered at 12:30pm and 5pm respectively so that I could space them out nicely over the day.

Here’s what my plan looked like for Day One

7:30 am – Fresh Orange (Carrot, Cucumber and Lime)

10:00am – Ultimate Veg (Beetroot, Carrot, Cucumber, Celery, Spinach Broccoli, Parsley, Ginger)

12:30 – Vege Green (Celery, Cucumber, Broccoli, Spinach, Parsley, Kale, Mint and Pepper)

3:00pm – Fruity Red (Beetroot, Apple, Pineapple, Carrot, Ginger) This is my favourite juice so I saved it for when I thought I would need a pick me up!

5:30pm Light Green (Kale, Romaine, Cucumber, Celery, Apple, Lime and Ginger)

7:30pm – Fruity Orange (Orange, Carrot, Apple, Cucumber and Mint)

I decided to ease myself into the cleanse by eating mostly raw and liquid food the day before (Fruit salad for breakfast, salad and a bowl of roast tomato soup for lunch and gazpacho for dinner) although I still allowed for essentials such as coffee and wine (!) I definitely think this helped as I woke up feeling fresh and raring to go and the morning whizzed by without feeling hungry at all. I was definitely ready for my mid afternoon juice, but as this was my standard Fruity Red, I suspect this was more down to anticipation than actual hunger. All in all the first day was easy, not to mention enjoyable and I had a relaxing evening, even managing to make it out to see my friends at my local (where I resisted the temptation to order a glass of wine and left as soon as I heard the words “SHOTS” being mentioned!)

I slept better than I have done in a while (probably owing to the lack of caffeine) and was actively looking forward to my first juice of the day. For Day 2, I decided to switch the juices up a  bit in order to try them all.

Day Two

7:30 am – Fresh Green (Cucumber, Mint, Pineapple, Leafy Greens)

10:00am – Ultimate Veg (Beetroot, Carrot, Cucumber, Celery, Spinach Broccoli, Parsley, Ginger)

12:30 – Vege Red (Tomato, Beetroot, Carrot, Cucumber, Parsley)

3:00pm – Fresh Orange (Carrot, Lime and Cucumber)

5:30pm Fruity Red (Beetroot, Pineapple, Carrot, Apple, Ginger)

7:30pm – Leafy Green (Kale, Spinach, Romaine, Parsley, Apple, Ginger, Lime)

I was pleased to find that I wasn’t at all hungry when I woke up and really enjoyed my first juice of the day. Considering I usually drink a lot of coffee, I was surprised that I didn’t feel the need to down an espresso or two as the morning progressed, although I did follow the Hives juicing advice by drinking several  large bottles of water throughout the day.

By the early evening I had developed bit of a headache that I just couldn’t seem to shake off and not wanting to resort to painkillers I had a relaxed night at home in front of the TV, managing a full 7 hours sleep uninterrupted, something I have not managed in an extremely long time.

Day Three Looked like this

7:30 am – Fresh Green (Cucumber, Mint, Pineapple, Leafy Greens)

11:00am – Ultimate Veg (Beetroot, Carrot, Cucumber, Celery, Spinach Broccoli, Parsley, Ginger)

1:30pm Fruity Red (Beetroot, Apple, Pineapple, Carrot, Ginger)

3:30pm – Vege Green (Celery, Cucumber, Broccoli, Spinach, Parsley, Kale, Mint and Pepper)

6:00pm – Leafy Green (Kale, Spinach, Romaine, Parsley, Apple, Ginger, Lime)

8:30pm Fruity Orange (Orange, Carrot, Apple, Cucumber and Mint)

This was definitely the best I have felt when waking up for a 5am alarm call, the headache had long gone and I resisted the urge to hit “snooze”, bounding straight out of bed and into work in no time at all. Surprisingly I didn’t feel remotely hungry, something that I was to notice throughout the day and had not been expecting at all.  The juices are packed full of huge quantities of fruits and vegetables  which probably explains it, I also tried the Hives’ recommendation to “chew” the juices by moving them around in my mouth which was certainly an interesting technique and may well have contributed.

Results?

Well a juice cleanse isn’t a fast fix for being overweight but then these things never are! I actually really enjoyed all of the juices and will definitely do a juice cleanse with the Hive again. I like the idea of doing a quick and easy 1 day juice program when I need to boost my energy levels as well as repeating the 3 day program again.  Who knows, I may well try the 5 day next time! Friends who didn’t know I was on the cleanse commented on how my skin was glowing and I certainly felt better than I have done in a while. It was probably my sleep quality that impressed me the most, I suppose the combination of eliminating caffeine and alcohol played a part in this but these were the best 3 nights sleep I have had in ages and I was delighted at how easily I fell asleep, not to mention how soundly I slept.

Definitive proof at how enjoyable it was? I would have happily had another juice for breakfast the next day (and a double flat white 😉 ) had it not been for the fact that The Hive is closed on Tuesdays. If you have a juicer at home, why not try making my favourite juice of the cleanse?

“Fruity Red” 

2/3 Pineapple

2/3 Beetroot

1/2 Apple

1 Carrot

10g Fresh Ginger

This delicious juice is a great combination of fruit and vegetables with a great fiery kick from the fresh ginger. It contains antiviral and antibacterial properties and is especially good for liver cleansing

The Hive juice cleanses start at $16.50 for either a 1 day Mega cleanse (replacing all 3 meals ) or a 3 day Casual cleanse (replacing 1meal a day) and rise to $110 for a 7 day Mega cleanse. Keep your eyes posted on their Facebook page The Hive for special juice promotions!

The Hive

Behind Hotel Riviera, Siem Reap

097 763 3484

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lara Dunston says:

    I thought you were looking radiant when I saw you yesterday. Must be the juice cleanse, particularly as you said you’d been ill. This sounds incredible! Think I’m going to have to try this when we return from Bangkok after all the over-indulging that’s inevitably going to happen. I, too, have noticed my weight creep on and it was a shock, too. How does it sneak up on us like that?! And nice redesign by the way! Site’s looking lovely!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Thanks Lara 🙂 very sweet of you to say so! The juices at the hive are really great and there are so many types I never got bored of them!

Leave a Reply

