Il Forno, Street 302 Phnom Penh.

Il Forno in Siem Reap is without a doubt, one of the best Italian restaurants I have eaten in since moving to Asia and so I was not surprised to learn that they were opening a second restaurant in Phnom Penh. Although I can eat at the Siem Reap branch whenever I wish, I was still interested to see the new restaurant when I visited Phnom Penh a few weeks ago, especially when I saw that they sell Aperol Spritz’s!

In a nod to their City destination, the Phnom Penh restaurant is much more glam than her Siem Reap counterpart, with stylish black leather furniture and a bar that runs the length of the restaurant making it the perfect place for a post work “Apero” or their recently launched Tuesday night Cichetti and Spritz promotion, where you can enjoy house wines and Aperol Spritz’s for just $5 accompanied by a free plate of Cichetti.

I visited for an early lunch, having spent the previous evening enthusiastically supporting New Zealand against South Africa in the World Cup, and so Pizza was at the top of my wish list! As in Siem Reap I chose their Quattro Staggioni, replacing the cooked ham with Parma ham and although it was somewhat of a struggle, I felt it only right to enjoy an Aperol Spritz alongside it.

The Il Forno standards are very much in evidence, service is friendly & efficient and of course the pizza was delicious and generously topped. This was a medium size!! The staff were so sweet they even offered to pack the last couple of slices for me to take away which although not necessary, was a thoughtful gesture and a lovely touch.

Il Forno Phnom Penh already seems to be a big success amongst the expats and was filling up nicely by the time I left, I would definitely recommend making bookings if you are planning on visiting so you are not disappointed! Even better – they have just launched a delivery service 7 days a week – you can access their menu here  and order by calling the number below

Il Forno

#11, Street 302 Phnom Penh

+855 (0) 10 660 515

Leave a Reply

