My Dream Boutique Resort, Luang Prabang, Laos.

As the flight from Siem Reap to Luang Prabang wasn’t going to land until the early evening, I decided that it didn’t make sense to check into my swanky 5 star hotel until the next day and so booked into My Dream Boutique Resort http://www.mydreamresort.com/ for my first night in Laos. I had read about the property on my friend Serena’s blog http://orientespresso.net/laos-travel-luang-prabang/ and had my heart not already been set on staying at La Residence Phou Vao I would have been very happy to stay here for the duration of my stay; the resort was stunning, the staff were lovely and the location is perfect. I booked online via Booking.com and was impressed to receive an email from the hotel the same afternoon confirming my room type and taking my flight details so they could arrange my complimentary airport pick up, even more impressive when you realize the hotel is just $65 a night in “Green Season” and that’s including breakfast!

As it was already dark when I arrived, I decided to have a quiet night at the hotel, and after getting settled I made my way to the hotels restaurant for dinner. The menu has a nice mix of local and western dishes to choose from and both my spring rolls and the local Luang Prabang salad – made with mixed leaves, boiled egg, tomato, peanuts, fried shallots & a tangy vinaigrette dressing – were very pleasant. I had the salad a few times over the course of my trip and I must say, this was definitely the best version of it. When in Lao, do as the Laotians do and drink beer Lao! I haven’t seen Beer Lao Gold before, apparently it is their “premium” offering, made with Sapphire Aroma hops and Khao Kai Noy rice and it was really rather nice, a large bottle was just $2.50.

After a very peaceful nights sleep I ventured out to explore the property a little bit. The hotels grounds run all the way down to the banks of the  Nam Khan river that you can traverse by Bamboo bridge (for 6 months of the year only, the bridge is removed for safety reasons once the rains start) in order to get to the main town.

The complimentary breakfast buffet includes eggs cooked to order, fresh salad, crusty baguettes and sliced bread for toasting, cheese, cold meats, fruits and noodles as well as lovely freshly squeezed juice; a couple of boiled eggs and the breakfast plate below set me up perfectly for the long day ahead! IMG_6958 All in all, a perfect little boutique hotel that won’t break the bank and a great choice for the first night of my holiday.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lara Dunston says:

    Oh that looks lovely – we’ve tested out a few hotels in the historic centre, will have to try this one next time. I have a long list of spots to check out. Can’t wait to get back. Luang Prabang is such a charming little city. I’d love to spend a month there.

    I’ll have to tell Terence about the premium Beer Lao. He’s a big fan of the stuff. Gets very upset when they periodically run out here in Siem Reap.

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Yes I think it would be right up your street, very much the same vibe as Bambu in Battambang. I loved Luang Prabang – would definitely return and spend more time there too.

Leave a Reply

