Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai.

The sheer volume of hotels to choose from when booking my weekend mini break in Shanghai was quite overwhelming but in the end I decided to (really) splash out and treat myself to a night at the Mandarin Oriental Pudong http://www.mandarinoriental.com/shanghai/ which has got to be up there in my list of all time favourite hotels that I have stayed in.

The hotel is located around 15 minutes by taxi away from the Bund in Pudong’s central financial district and has stunning views over Lujiazui as well as the Huangpu river and I found it hard to tear myself away from the window in my 17th floor suite in order to make it out in time for dinner!

All the little Mandarin Oriental details are there to make a difference. The desk in my living room was furnished not only with an elegant letter writing case but also all the stationary someone on a business trip might need, from a stapler to scissors, paperclips, sellotape and post it notes as well as multiple marker pens, ball points and pencils – I’m a bit of a stationary geek in case you couldn’t tell!

The coffee machine offered freshly brewed ILLY espresso and tea was from JING (one of my favourites) with several unusual herbal infusions available alongside the more traditional offerings of English Breakfast and Green Tea. I didn’t need to make any purchases from the minibar as I was on one of their club floors with access to the second floor club lounge but would have been sorely tempted by the half bottle of Neil Paulett Polish Hill Riesling had not been the case.

Colourful bathroom amenities are from both Ormonde Jayne and Shanghai Tang with bathrobes available in both Chinese silk and double lined terry toweling depending on whether you want something to lounge in or to snuggle up into after a shower or bath as you watch the city light up at night. There is even a yoga mat alongside the emergency survival kit and golf umbrella in the walk in closet.

And then there is the bed – oh what a bed! Without a doubt the comfiest I have slept in, soft and plush from the use of pure goose down duvets and pillows enveloped in crisp white Frette linen. The base pillows are firmer than the top ones which means you sink into the soft, fluffy top pillow with the benefit of a  good firm base – there is even a pillow menu available for those with more specific requests –  and I slept ridiculously well, especially considering I didn’t get to bed until gone 3 am after an enthusiastic night exploring Shanghai’s many bars and clubs!

Breakfast offered a great variety of dishes from around the globe with everything from  mini uttapam and dhal to congee, Dim Sum and other traditional Chinese offerings whilst there was also an impressive selection of Western dishes; all the necessary components for a good  Full English to pancakes, home made pastries, cheese, salad and charcuterie.

As if the views weren’t enough to tempt you, it is more than worth paying to upgrade to the Club Mandarin floors in order to have access to the second floor Club Lounge where I did my check in and check out and enjoyed both pre dinner drinks and a morning newspaper and coffee break before leaving the hotel. The space is beautiful, equally good for business meetings or leisure time and the light meal and drinks service offered was, as expected top notch.

*Thank you to my lovely friends in the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok PR department who helped me out with a friends and family rate, giving me the boost I needed to persuade me to book. This might have been my first stay in a Mandarin Oriental but it most certainly wont be the last. I am a Fan!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy M says:

    I am quite little drooling over those food photos!
    Hotel looks beautiful too xo

    1. beirutibrit says:

      It was stunning Amy – such a treat!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Thanks – such a beautiful hotel they don’t do it justice

Leave a Reply

