Frangipani Spa, Hup Guan Street, “Kandal Village”, Siem Reap.

I have mentioned before that I am very much a creature of habit at the moment and it is safe to say that this extends to treating myself to a massage on my days off. I have visited several of the higher end spas in Siem Reap and whilst I still continue to rotate between 2 or 3 of them, the pretty Frangipani Spa in the up and coming enclave of Kandal Village is one of my favourites.

Whilst most, if not all spas seem to offer a complimentary pre treatment foot wash and mini massage, none of them make as much of an effort as the team at Frangipani. A large wooden filled with warm water, frangipani flowers, lotus flowers and fresh herbs is bought to the waiting area in order for the therapist to thoroughly clean your feet and give a quick 5 minute foot reflexology massage whilst you enjoy a refreshing herbal drink and cooling face towel.

The treatment rooms are nice and spacious and decorated with pretty floral stencils and the massage beds are generously sized, as are the cotton pyjamas you are given to wear if you choose the “Tropical” Khmer style massage which is more than can be said about some of the other local spas.

They offer around 9 different types of massage, from Khmer to Hot Stone, Four Hand and Deep Tissue massage as well as facials, body scrubs, manicures, pedicures and waxing with massages starting at $20 for a 30 minute Anti Stress massage and reaching $75 for the Hot Stone treatment although most of the treatments are at the $35 mark.

I really enjoyed my Tropical massage ($35) – this is similar to a Khmer massage in that they focus on pressure points and stretching techniques – but it was the Sports massage and Traditional Herbal Compress ($52) that I enjoyed the most. I was given an option of 4 different oils for the massage and chose an orange and herb oil that was really relaxing. The 90 minute treatment focused mostly on my back and shoulders – at my request – and left me feeling utterly blissed out and super relaxed, well worth spending the extra cash on.

It is true that you can enjoy much cheaper treatments in Siem Reap but I personally think the whole experience at Frangipani is just so relaxing and reviving that it is more than worth the extra money. They also donate $1 from every treatment to ADF, Archaeology and Development Foundation Phnom Kulen Project http://www.adfkulen.org

Frangipani is open from 10am – 8pm every day except Monday

615 Hup Guan Street, Kandal Village

063 964 391

info@frangipanisiemreap.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel relaxed just reading it! Makes it so much more worthwhile when they go the extra mile. I always feel awkward going to spas, probably because i’ve only ever been twice it’s still quite new to me! xo

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Well worth treating yourself!

  2. That looks sooooo pretty!! xx

Leave a Reply

