The Upstairs Cafe, Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap.

******Sadly now closed*******

Whilst I have plenty of regular coffee shops, bars and restaurants to visit here in Siem Reap, I also like to discover new places and so, after a quick glance at Foursquare I decided to make my way across the river to “The Upstairs Café” on Wat Bo Road for a late breakfast.The menu is short and sweet, offering a few breakfast and lunch dishes – 2 or 3 eggs with toast, a daily changing quiche etc – as well as home baked cakes and an impressive selection of TWG teas from Singapore, Illy coffee, fresh juices and flavoured waters.

I decided to try their set breakfast ($4.50) which includes a small fresh fruit salad, 2 eggs prepared to your liking, toast, mango jam and local coffee or tea with the option to upgrade to TWG or Illy for an additional $1.50.

The fruit salad, made with pineapple, pink dragonfruit, watermelon and mango, was perfectly portioned and beautifully sweet and ripe. I know a lot of people find dragonfruit really bland but I like it – especially the beautiful vibrant pink version.

I chose to have the eggs fried and served sunnyside up and was happy to see that they had been  cooked so that the white was cooked through with the gorgeous orangey yolks still nice and runny.

I had ordered an additional drink of soda with cucumber and mint syrup which was a little sweet for my tastes – I think I would have preferred just the fresh mint and fresh cucumber slices but it was interesting to try all the same and stretched out nicely when topped up with an additional can of soda.

The small cafe doubles up as a kitsch boutique and I loved all of the homewares they had on sale, especially the green enamel cups  which I think I will have to make a return visit for sooner rather than later! There is also a large selection of the beautiful body products from Coco Khmer as well as jewellery, clothes and children’s clothes and gifts too – definitely worth checking out.

4 Comments Add yours

    1. beirutibrit says:

      I knew you’d love them! Whole cafe set up made me think of you 🙂

  1. Such a cute space!
    I love how the boutique items are mismatched but still go well together, especially those enamel cups!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Gorgeous aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

