Cafe Central, Siem Reap

Whilst there is certainly no shortage of places to eat on Pub Street, I tend to find myself gravitating towards the same places again and again on my days off. Café Central is one of these such places, especially when I am in the mood for a late lunch as the banquette seating along the window gives you a great vantage point to people watch from and I have spent many an hour sitting and watching the world go by from here.

Part of the reason I enjoy Café Central so much is that I can sit indoors next to their open windows and have all the benefits of aircon (vital when you consider that the temperature is topping 36 degrees at the moment) whilst still having the feeling that I am sitting outside. I should point out that this was a recommendation from my friend D’s blog and you can see her post on it here http://www.mylifeinsin.com/2014/10/siem-reap-cambodia-cafe-central-for.html.

So what have I tried from the menu at Café Central? Firstly, the Avocado, Halloumi and Mushrooms on Toast with Tomato Chutney ($6.75). Whilst the combination of avocado, halloumi and mushroom works very nicely indeed, I find the tomato chutney too sweet for my tastes and so on my return visit I decided to try the Avocado BLT ($6.25) with the chutney served on the side – far more to my liking – since then I always ask for the chutney to be served separately

Whilst the Pumpkin and Feta Quiche ($5.75) may not look like the best, I actually really enjoyed it as the sweetness of the pumpkin plays off really well against the salty feta and it somehow manages to not be too eggy (does that make sense?!) as I often find deep filled quiches like this to be. The other positive is that it is such a huge portion, I generally don’t have room for dinner when I have a late lunch here!

The rest of the menu at Café Central includes meatier brunch options like a Full Fry Up  – known here as “The Business” with eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, hash brown and sourdough toast ($5.75) – or Eggs Benedict ($6.25) as well as Burgers, Sandwiches, Pasta and Pizza and a selection of local dishes with nothing costing more than $7.50. Drinks are also well priced with a local beer starting from just $1 or $4.25 for a glass of wine.

Café Central, Street 11 Siem Reap

Open daily 7am-11pm

http://thecafecentral.com/

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Quiche that’s too eggy is definitely a thing!
    I haven’t really tried many pumpkin flavoured items but seems like i should probably try more! x

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Love pumpkin! One of those things I kinda have to order when I see it on a menu 😂

  2. Danielle says:

    We went back and the hummus wasn’t too bad either if I remember correctly 🙂 thanks for the link sweetie xxx

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Haven’t tried the hummus there – thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

