Trip Advisor Top Ten Travellers Choice Destinations 2015

Working in hospitality, it is safe to say that TripAdvisor and I do not always see eye to eye, but never the less I was interested to receive the results of their 2015 Travellers Choice Awards, not least as Siem Reap came in at Number 2 in the world (and Number 1 in Asia)

See below for the full list of winners and links to my recommendations where relevant.

Top 10 Travellers Choice World Destinations

  1. Marrakech, Morocco (+5)
  2. Siem Reap, Cambodia (+7) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/siem-reap-2/
  3. Istanbul, Turkey (-2)
  4. Hanoi, Vietnam (+4)
  5. Prague, Czech Republic (0)
  6. London, England (-3) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/london/
  7. Rome, Italy (-5)
  8. Buenos Aires, Argentina (+6)
  9. Paris, France (-2)
  10. Cape Town, South Africa (+9)

Top 10 Travellers Choice Asian Destinations

  1. Siem Reap, Cambodia (+2)
  2. Hanoi, Vietnam (0)
  3. Ubud, Bali, Indonesia (+5) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/bali-2/
  4. Bangkok, Thailand (+1) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/bangkok-2/
  5. Kathmandu, Nepal (+5)
  6. Hong Kong, China (+1) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/hong-kong/
  7. Hoi An, Vietnam (+7)
  8. Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia (NEW) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/bali-2/
  9. Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia (+10) https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/category/bali-2/
  10. Beijing, China (-9)

So great news for Siem Reap, and South East Asia (who made up almost half of the Asian list) in general. Whilst these lists are certainly subjective they are an interesting insight into how and why people are travelling and what it is they are looking for in a holiday destination. Hanoi and Hoi An are at the top of my travel list this year and I am looking forward to exploring Cambodia in more depth too.

Why Siem Reap? I would hazard a guess and say it is a combination of the exotic and the familiar. No one can fail to be moved by a visit to the majestic temples of Angkor, and the Cambodian people are surely some of the most friendly, genuine and welcoming you will meet. I only hope that people travel responsibly and these beautiful heritage sites are given the protection they need to ensure tourists are free to enjoy their mysteries for centuries to come

Where would your Top Ten World Destinations be? What is it that you like about them? I would love to hear any thoughts and travel tips so please do leave me a note in the comments or drop me an email beirutibrit@gmail.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Danielle says:

    wooohoooo to Siem Reap winning πŸ™‚

    I love it too! I hope to visit a few on that list. Go to London frequently and everyone knows I love Rome but work should hopefully take me to Istanbul soon and I would like to go to North Africa too πŸ™‚

    1. beirutibrit says:

      I loved Marrakech when i visited a few years back – definitely somewhere I can see you adoring! I’m really keen to visit Istanbul as well but I think I’ll have to focus on Asian trips this year! Thanks for commenting

  2. Asia has been so popular lately – i love that it’s getting so much attention but hope the countries are prepared to handle the masses responsibly. I’m going to Portugal for the first time this year so extremely excited about that! Can’t wait to read more of your views on Cambodia – be interesting to hear it from an expats perspective as opposed to the usual people who pass through xx

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Thanks for reading! I love Portugal! Where are you visiting? I am sure you will fall in love – it has all the wonderful culture, history, beautiful countryside, beaches and great food that you love!

Leave a Reply

