Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit, Soi 57, Bangkok.

Without a doubt, Thonglor is one of my favourite areas of Bangkok so when I was given the opportunity to spend a night at the Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit (2 Sukhumvit Soi 57, Bangkok) as part of the launch of their new Mobile Checkout App I was happy to have the opportunity to discover this beautiful hotel in more detail.

The 296 room hotel (which is little over a year old) is conveniently located just moments from BTS Thonglor, within easy walking distance of many Bangkok’s best restaurants from Bo:Lan to Opposite Mess Hall and Soul Food Mahanakorn – not to mention bars like Iron Fairies, WTF and Bad Motel and of course one Bangkok’s best areas for street food Soi 38 which is less than 2 minutes from the hotels driveway. Trust me, if it is nightlife you are after then you have most definitely come to the right place. That’s not to say that this is a loud or boisterous hotel, quite the opposite, the sleek, modern design and clever use of space has a wonderfully calming effect and I left after my mini break feeling far more relaxed then when I had arrived!

This is one of those hotels with a real sense of arrival, heightened by the strikingly high lobby ceilings which give it an undeniable sense of grandeur. The use of different tones and textures of fabric, along with the water fountains and stunning floral displays, add a sense of warmth to the cool, comtemporary space. I really liked the fact that whilst the hotel is very sleek and modern, the design also manages to take in some classic Thai elements such as the beautiful carved wood panels which gave a lovely dappled sunlight effect to the lobby.

As you would expect from a company who are at the technological forefront of the industry (see my earlier post on the newly launched mobile check in/check out app) there are other notable uses of modern technology throughout the hotel such as their touchscreen lift controls which also display up and coming hotel events, and in a nice nod to their local commitment, the Thai colour of the day (The display screen actually changed colour accordingly from purple on the Saturday to red on Sunday!)

Once I got over the incredible views from my room (and stopped trying to wave to my friend Marissa who lives in a neighbouring soi!) I was able to explore my room in more detail – starting with the funky round bath tub which was enough to convince even the most fervent believer in showers to take a relaxing pre dinner soak in the tub! Again the modernity of the materials used (like the cool, clean marble floors and walls) contrasted beautifully with the Thai wall hangings and room decorations; it seemed more like a cool friend’s city studio than a hotel. Special mention should also be made for the bed that was quite simply the softest and comfiest I have ever slept in, it was with some effort that I forced myself to get up in time for breakfast.

But of course I did eventually get up and make my way to 57th Street the hotels main buffet restaurant located in the lobby in order to see what breakfast treats lay in store. All manner of breakfast items are available with Thai food being represented along with Indian, Chinese and Japanese not to mention all the makings of a proper fry up, fresh waffles, crepes and a lovely Mediterranean influenced salad counter where I took most of my breakfast from.

I was particularly impressed with the spinach quiche (what do you mean that’s not breakfast!) and the lovely courgette salad was so good I went back for seconds, along with the European cheese, charcuterie and freshly baked bread.

The hotel also features an impressive gym for the health conscious which can be found on the 7th floor along with their pool and deluxe Anne Semonin Spa. The treatment rooms are all very generously sized and have their own personal showers, toilet and locker which add to the relaxation process. My detoxifying lemongrass oil Thai massage left me in a completely blissed out state and it was with some effort I roused myself enough to investigate their rooftop pool where I was once again wowed by the incredible views over the city as I sipped on an ice cold beer.

In addition to the 57th street restaurant, the hotel is also home to a delectable chocolate café (at the other side of the lobby) with an impressive selection of homemade macaroons, cakes, salads and sandwiches along with their flagship restaurant “District Grill Room and Bar” and rooftop bar “Octave” which both have separate blog posts to follow.

* I was a guest of Marriott on this occasion but you can enjoy their weekend room promotion from as little as 3,150 THB http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/bkkms-bangkok-marriott-hotel-sukhumvit/  All thoughts and opinions expressed here are my own.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looks amazing! Great write up xx

Leave a Reply

