My Week In Food.

 

After last week’s epic dinner at Seven Spoons it was the turn of one of my other favourite restaurants to host a special dinner with the Crab Boil at Opposite Mess Hall http://oppositebangkok.com/ Jess sourced some of the most beautiful blue swimmer crabs I have ever had the pleasure to eat, along with giant, meaty prawns, corn bread, succotash and more which made for a fantastic night! Most of my work lunches were pretty boring last week so here are some of my more exciting meals

As I mentioned, the highlight of my week was definitely the Crab Boil at Opposite Mess Hall. The usual seating was all changed and we sat on long sharing tables which had been wrapped in brown paper and then the seafood feast was laid out on top for us. Along with the crab, I must give special mention for the insanely delicious peach cobbler topped with their homemade soft serve that was so good we ended up going back the next night for some more (its currently on their dessert menu with fresh figs and Thai tea granite – you really should try it while you can!)

My friend Nic was visiting from Hong Kong and so I took her to Soul Food Mahanakorn http://www.soulfoodmahanakorn.com/ for some delicious Thai food. We started with the “Yam Makrua Yao” a salad of smoked sweet and sour eggplant with bacon, duck egg, mint and coriander and some southern Thai mini chicken samosas, before moving onto their crab and lemongrass curry and crispy sea bass with green peppercorns and Thai basil. I was surprised by how much more I enjoyed the eggplant salad than when I first tried it, showing perhaps how my taste buds have changed since spending the last year living in Thailand. Soul Food is one of those restaurants I take everyone who visits me to and as such I will be back there tomorrow when I have another friend over from Singapore!

This is my one token work meal for the week! I used some mixed leaves with carrot, beans and sweetcorn, boiled egg and nam pla phrik along with a little spiced cauliflower tempura to jazz it up. Nam pla phrik seems to be my seasoning of choice at the moment and I am not sure how I survived without it!

1947

On Friday night we went to the W hotel http://www.whotelbangkok.com/ for their excellent ladies night where they serve complimentary free flow sparkling wine from 7-10pm. We shared a few snacks between us from the pumpkin samosas and sweetcorn and manchego fritters to the truffle fries you can see in the picture below.

1949

On Sunday I had lunch with my friends Marissa and Nianne at Marissa’s house with Nianne cooking up some very nice penne with pumpkin and bacon for us. We shared a bottle of white wine and caught up on all the gossip before I went to watch Everton play Leicester with Anna and Mel at the National Stadium. As Brits (and an American) we were a little surprised that they don’t serve beer inside the stadium (!!!) but managed to grab a couple of drinks before we headed in to watch the match which ended 1-0 to Leicester who I had decided to support, purely to troll die hard Evertonian Anna (such a good friend aren’t I?!) We finished with pizza and red wine at “Da Mamma” on Kasemsan 1 just across from the stadium which was pretty decent and also gave us the opportunity to miss all the crazy post match traffic

Leave a Reply

