Hyde & Seek “Peek A Boo”, Groove@Centralworld

Hyde and Seek “Peek-A-Boo” http://www.hydeandseek.com/ opened at the “Groove at Central World” one of Bangkok’s newest destination drinking and dining locations earlier this year. They have stayed true to Ian Kittichai and Peter Pitakwongs original formula at Hyde and Seek Gastrobar with a menu of international favourites and inspired cocktails making this one of the superior dining options Groove has to offer.  

I was there mid afternoon at the weekend, long after the lunch crowds had vanished and before the night-time drinkers began to gather but happily they serve their full menu (cocktails included – a rarity for a restaurant in a mall) throughout the day.

I didn’t have to look at the menu for long as I saw straight away that they have one of my favourite ( if not somewhat ubiquitous) bar snacks on offer – Scotch eggs. Of course with such internationally revered chefs behind the menu these are no regular scotch eggs, in fact 3 different “gourmet” varieties are on offer from Kurobata pork and wagyu beef with a stilton and egg centre, Minced chicken with potato and truffle with an egg and foie gras centre to the slightly more classic pork sausage and quail egg with a spicy baked bean hollandaise. For 295 THB you can choose to have any one of these or a tasting selection with one of each which is what I did.

Of the 3, it was probably no surprise that it was the “Breakfast Run” of pork sausage with quail egg that I enjoyed the most, I found “The Birdies” chicken version a little bland to be honest but the stilton and egg centre of the “Meat and Dairy” Kurobata and Wagyu was excellent and I enjoyed the opportunity to try all 3 of them. My shoestring fries (150 THB) were also very good, cooked to perfection – nice and crispy – and the rosemary and sea salt seasoning was another nice touch

Drinks wise I just tried the “Hickey Spritzer” made with sparkling wine and elderflower liqueur and orange bitters which was the perfect afternoon aperitif style drink although I will have to head back to sample some more of their extensive cocktail list as it is definitely one of the most comprehensive I have seen – even including signature drinks from other bars like Singapore’s 28 Hong Kong Street  which I have been lucky enough to frequent on occasion too.

I have tried a few of the other bars at Groove and was extremely unimpressed, Peek-a-boo would definitely be my bar of choice should I be to return.

Groove@CentralWorld is easily accessible via three different Skywalk links between Siam and Chitlom BTS stations. The direct skywalk link to Groove is from the Eden Zone on CentralWorld’s second floor and the link from the balcony on the third floor of ZEN Department Store.

 

Leave a Reply

