Eat Me Restaurant, Silom, Bangkok

Coming in at No.37 on the San Pellegrino list of Asias Top 50 restaurants, Eat Me http://www.eatmerestaurant.com/ is the 4th Bangkok restaurant on this list that I have eaten in (after nahm, Bo.lan and Gaggans) so it is safe to say that expectations were high when I visited last week.

The kitchen is headed up by Chef Tim Butler who takes inspiration from around the world, details which are evident from the moment bread service begins with the chewy sourdough being accompanied by olive oil, sea salt and dukkah (an Egyptian spice, seed and nut mix which includes things like sesame, hazelnuts, cumin and coriander to name just a few)

I started with “Roasted Marrow Bone with Salsa Verde and Summer Truffle” (600 THB). I have been hooked on bone marrow since I tried it at St John – where it is served with simple sourdough bread, salt and a herb and onion salad – it is one dish I have to order when I see it on the menu! Here, they serve it topped with generous spoonful’s of herby salsa verde and a couple of anchovies which helped to cut through the richness of the dish, the truffle was also a really interesting addition, I would definitely order this again – but maybe as a main course as it was just huge.

The next dish literally blew me away it was so good! “Nduja, Fresh Honeycomb and Manchego” (350 THB) Sourdough bread topped with a layer of chilli, nduja (spicy Italian sausage) fresh honeycomb and strips of manchego. The combination of the spicy, sweet and salty flavours was just incredible, I’m still dreaming about it now and planning when I can go back next so I can eat it again.

My main course was “Organic Sea Urchin Risotto with Caribinero Prawn and Lemon” (1350 THB) which I was looking forward to as I love sea urchin and haven’t had the chance to eat it in a while. The urchin melted into the risotto adding a rich, briny flavour to the dish which is further emphasized when you dig in to the impressive red Carabinero prawn served on top. This is a big dish with a lot of intensity but one no seafood fan should miss.

I was also impressed with their wine list which has around 10 wines by the glass. I was delighted to see that they had Santa Ruiz Albarino ( 360 THB per 120cl) as this is one of my favourite white wines and it worked perfectly with all of the food that I ordered. I also had the chance to sample several of their cocktails (all of which were great) including the “Siam Daiquiri” (280 THB) made with Pampero rum, lemongrass, ginger and kaffir lime.

Eat Me (which also doubles up as an art gallery with bi monthly exhibitions form local and International artists and photographers) is open daily from 3pm until 1am and serves the whole menu right up until closing. It has that magic combination of not only outstanding food and drinks but an electric atmosphere, the music playlist was excellent and there was a positive hum about the dining room even midweek. This is somewhere you could come for a full blown meal or to catch up with friends over drinks and small plates like the Nduja well into the night, either way you are in for a great time!

Eat Me – Soi Piphat 2 (just down Convent road) Silom, Bangkok +66 22380931

* I visited Eat Me as their guest but all thoughts and opinions expressed here are my own.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my
    iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent site!

Leave a Reply

