Cafe Tartine, Soi Rumrudee, Bangkok.

Café Tartine http://www.cafetartine.net/cafetartine.net/Welcome.html is one of those places I have passed by countless times and yet somehow never actually made in through the front door. After a morning spent swimming and in the gym I decided to treat myself to brunch and as I didn’t feel like leaving the general area I decided to finally give it a shot.

The restaurant was packed when I arrived, a mix of local and expat teens and students as well as expat families, it is definitely a nice chilled out atmosphere to sit and read the papers over brunch or catch up on some work on the laptop as several people around me seemed to be doing.

The menu is surprisingly large with everything from salads and sandwiches – with a “build your own “option for both – to roast chicken (they have their own rotisserie outside) via Quiche, Croque Monsieurs, Burgers and some egg based brunch dishes like Eggs Benedict. Probably swayed by the name, I decided to have the vegetable tartine (220 THB) thick sourdough topped with marinated grilled eggplant, tomato, peppers and mushrooms with a little béchamel on top and a side of salad and fries along with a bucks fizz (or Mimosa as they call it here) at just 160 THB a glass.

The service was quick, friendly and efficient – the waiter even came to tell me that the fries I had ordered were quite a large portion and wanted to see if I was happy with a half portion, which I appreciated as I was. As I was still hungry afterwards I ordered a portion of the fruit salad with yoghurt (160 THB) which I also really enjoyed, the watermelon was amongst the sweetest I have eaten all year and the rest of the fruits were a nice mix of apple, orange and pineapple – perfect with the slightly sweetened side of yoghurt.

Whilst I wouldn’t make a huge effort to travel to Cafe Tartine, it is a pleasant little café that I would definitely return to and recommend – it’s great having such a low key, chilled out brunch place so nearby.

Leave a Reply

