Quince, Soi 45 Bangkok.

Quince is one of those restaurants I have been meaning to go to for a long time but have somehow never quite made it. A last minute switching of days off and a desire to check out some new brunch places meant I finally had my opportunity to do so last weekend.

The restaurant is on Soi 45, half way between Phrom Phong and Thonglor, in an attractive glass fronted building that is decorated in a sort of cross between modern industrial and French country house shabby chic. Whilst they have several seating areas and private rooms, I was happy to be sat in the front bar area with all its lovely natural light streaming through the windows, near to the 3 piece band which kept me entertained throughout my meal.

The brunch menu covers every angle with dishes like Bircher Museli with grated apple, yoghurt and longon honey (180 THB) or a Raw and Pickled Vegetable Salad with Beetroot, Carrot, Hummus, Pumpkin Seeds and Lemon (220 THB) for the healthy brunch fans amongst us. There’s also the option to have Half or a Whole Roast Organic Chicken ( 500/950 THB) laden with sides, Milk Fed Veal Schnitzel (750 THB) and a Chargrilled Hanger Steak (750 THB) if you want something more substantial but I am generally pretty old school when it comes to brunch and that can only mean EGGS. They offer Poached Eggs two ways, with either Hummus, Quinoa Tabbouleh and Roast Peppers (240 THB) or with Chiang Mai Spinach and Tomato Relish (220 THB) whilst Scrambled Eggs are served with Sloanes Black Pudding (280 THB) if you need some meat to start your day.

I was really tempted by the BLT with Sloanes Smoked Bacon, Vine Tomato, Cos and Mayo (180 THB) and would definitely have this if I was to go back but in the end I decided to try the English Muffin Burger with Sloanes Smoked Bacon, a Fried Egg, Gruyere, Rocket and Red Pepper Jam (180 THB) and a side order of the Quinoa Tabbouleh as my curiosity got the better of me! Service was sweet enough but a little patchy, my Pomegranate Bellini actually took longer to turn up than the burger, one of the reasons I usually order a drink as soon as possible but it was a pleasant drink and worth the wait. My Bloody Mary was also fine but I couldn’t help but feel that they are missing out on a trick by not offering more interesting versions of such standard drinks along the lines of those at Appia for example.

Never the less my English Muffin Burger really hit the spot, the addition of the peppery rocket with the sweet pepper relish added a different layer of flavour to the dish and I liked the fact that they had been restrained with the use of the Gruyere so it wasn’t too rich or heavy. Unsurprisingly, the Quinoa Tabbouleh bore literally no resemblance to the traditional version but was delicious all the same.

I had completely forgotten how much I enjoy the nuttiness of Quinoa and I was really glad I had ordered it instead of the Fried Potato Wedges that everyone else in the restaurant seemed to be sharing amongst themselves. The brunch atmosphere was perfect, chilled out and relaxing which is exactly what I want out of a brunch venue, the band were great too, low key but entertaining enough not to slip into “muzak” territory. I will need to head back one evening to suss out their dinner menu but in the meantime am happy to have found another good Bangkok Brunch!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    Their building is gorgeous.
    Love the floor length windows!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Yes I loved the space too, really lovely in the sunlight!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

