Seven Spoons, Lan Luang, Bangkok

One of my favoruite restaurants in Bangkok is definitely the lovely Seven Spoons in old Bangkok and as my last blogpost on them https://beirutibrit.wordpress.com/?s=seven+spoons was about their lunch menu (and I only had a salad!) I thought I should post a few images from my last dinner there to show you a bit more of what they have to offer.

The only thing I dislike about the menu at Seven Spoons is how hard it is to decide what to eat as everything just sounds so delicious! Luckily my friends were happy to order a few of the appetisers to share between us which made things a bit easier!

We started with Mushroom fritti with masala dipping sauce (120 THB) which was a wonderful selection of local mushrooms (no boring button mushrooms here!)in a crisp, slightly spiced tempura batter with a delicious aioli dip on the side. These were a real highlight of our meal and I struggled not to order another portion with our main courses!

I had already tried the Lentil fritters with olive cheese, dates and mint (160 THB) and so we shared some more of these so the girls could see what all the fuss was about along with some Mango Salsa Shrimp Tacos (180 THB). 2 soft flour tortillas oozing with cheese, sweet ripe mango salsa and perfectly cooked plump little shrimps. I am not sure how exactly it was that I managed to snaffle the extra taco for myself (I don’t remember threatening violence or anything but if I did they were definitely worth it!) but I was certainly glad to!

Some more of the delicious mushroom fritti turned up as the garnish on the “New Version” Quinoa salad with mango and avocado (260 THB) one of those unusual but very successful flavor combinations that I have come to expect from Seven Spoons.

Even after this all I was still stuck with too many choices for my main course – did I want Crab ravioli with pink peppercorn sauce, Gnocchi with gorgonzola and chickpea spinach balls (both 280 THB) or the Summer Days watermelon and feta salad?

In the end I made a last minute switch to the Halloumi tikka kebabs with cardamom spinach risotto and tamarind syrup (260 THB) as I loved the idea of a cardamom scented risotto and can’t remember the last time I ate halloumi which is definitely one of my favourite cheeses.  The risotto was perfectly cooked and the addition of cardamom meant that it wasn’t too rich or overpowering for the delicate halloumi and broccoli kebabs served on top of it. The salty halloumi also really benefitted from the sweet and sour drizzle of tamarind syrup & I love how much thought and detail does into all the contrasting flavours of each dish, no matter how simple they may initially seem.

Sadly, quite a few of my pictures of the other main courses didn’t come out so brilliantly so you will have to use your imagination a bit here I’m afraid but notable highlights from the specials board would have to be the Duck confit with fork crushed root vegetables, baby bok choy and cherry espresso sauce and the Pan fried snapper with braised daikon, garden peas and miso buerre blanc (both under 400 THB)

Of course it wouldn’t be dinner at seven Spoons if it didn’t involve some cocktails and they didn’t disappoint here either. I loved the Cherry Popper from their specials made with 10 cane rum, cherry liqueur, Chambord and grapefruit and pear compote although it takes a lot to tempt me away from their signature Silver Spoon with Martini Bianco, spiced rum and galangal (230 THB) for too long.

Whilst the road outside Seven Spoons is currently closed to traffic owing to the protests it is still easy to access – get a taxi or motor-cy to drop you off at the Nakhon Sawan intersection and walk through the barriers to deliciousness! You can also travel there via Khlong boat to Phan Fa and walk up Chakrapatipong road – Seven Spoons is diagonally across from the Green Hotel. Trust me when I say it is more than worth the effort – I’ve already booked my next table for Saturday (now I just need to decide what to eat!)

UPDATE: seven spoons is closed this week and will reopen on May 24th 2014

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    I’m so glad you tried the tacos! I absolutely adored them and the kick of coriander combined with sweet mango is delish and now i want them again. Ohh i miss bangkok’s food scene! Xx

    1. beirutibrit says:

      It’s a fab restaurant! You must be enjoying all the roasts etc again though!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

