My Week in Food.

This past week has been a real “gourmet” week for me as I had a friend visiting from Singapore who is in the process of moving back to the UK and we wanted to ensure she got to visit all the Bangkok restaurants on her “hit list” before she did so.

We started off at Soul Food Mahanakorn http://www.soulfoodmahanakorn.com/ on Monday night and whilst we shared a few dishes between us, it was the Gaeng Hang Lay that really stood out. Described on their menu as a “Burmese style curry” it is made by slow cooking chunks of pork belly in a tamarind based sauce with all sorts of different spices like cumin, coriander, turmeric, ginger and of course lots of chilies and the resulting tangy, sweet, spicy curry is just a feast for the tastebuds! (Special thanks to my friend Melissa for introducing me to this dish!)

680

Tuesday night saw us at Issaya http://www.issaya.com/issaya-index.php  where we chose the set menu. If I had to pick a favourite dish from here it probably would have been the Kradook Moo AOB Sauce – spice rubbed baby back ribs. The meat is just so tender it falls away from the bone at the slightest touch and I loved the slight char from the table top BBQ they came served on.

706

On Wednesday we had dinner at Bo.Lan http://www.bolan.co.th/wordpress/?page_id=58 (I wasn’t lying when I told you this was a gourmet week!) It was as stunning as always, I definitely couldn’t pick just one dish as my favourite so I have posted one of the more unusual dishes Yum Pla Som Beap. Made with preserved fish, it is coated in rice and left to ferment for a few days ( I know it sounds scary but trust me it is delicious!!) The flavours are surprisingly delicate – until you ladle over some of the fiery chilli sauce that is!

748

Our final Bangkok dinner was at David Thompsons nahm http://www.comohotels.com/metropolitanbangkok/dining/nahm at the Metropolitan hotel. I last ate here for my birthday back in September but had been itching to return and once again my tastebuds were blown! This is one of the canapés –  a rice cracker topped with Blue swimmer crab and fresh chilli. Sweet and spicy, it packs a huge amount of flavour in one tiny mouthful – fantastic!

776

On Friday we flew to Krabi for my friend D’s hen do and whilst we had a hysterical cookery lesson on the Friday night at brilliant Thai Charm cookery school http://thaicharmcooingscool.blogspot.com/ the unmistakable highlight would have to have been Saturday’s dinner at Ruen Mai. We shared several dishes amongst us and I think surprisingly the Chicken with lemon grass and kaffir was my favourite dish, spicy and really fragrant – we had a fantastic night!

979

Phew! What a fun and delicious week it was – needless to say you can expect a lot of salads and work meals for next weeks “Week in Food”!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    What a week!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      It most certainly was!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

