Roast, Seenspace, Thonglor 13 , Bangkok.

Its not often that I’m stuck with where to go and eat on my day off but after being unimpressed with my the menu at my initial choice of restaurant in Chitlom I was at a bit of a loss as to where to go for brunch recently.A quick Google for best brunch in Bangkok came up with plenty of choices and I eventually settled on Roast https://www.facebook.com/roastbkk  in Thonglor as my destination. I was advised that there would be quite a long wait for a table inside but as I was happy to sit on the small terrace outside the back of the restaurant I actually only ended up waiting around 10 minutes before I was seated.

The menu is designed as if it were a newspaper, perfect to help get you into perfect “brunch mode” and there were some interesting articles inside, from an interview with the chef to a small piece on the butcher Joe Sloane (he of the amazing sausages from Sheepshank and the Bangkok Farmers market to name just a few)

It took me a while to narrow down what I wanted to eat as there were so many great looking dishes on their menu; Crab cake benedict, pulled pork burger, cranberry cream cheese French toast and an interesting salad with fresh grapefruit, fennel and mixed leaves all sounded really appealing but in the end it was the promise of some crispy prosciutto on top of the Eggs Florentine (300 THB) that swayed me. The Eggs Florentine were great; thick, crusty sourdough topped with wilted spinach, perfectly cooked poached eggs with gorgeous rich yolks, hollandaise and a little prosciutto on top to finish. There is something so perfect about that combination – you can keep your standard Benedict’s as far as I’m concerned, Florentine is what its all about!

Drinks wise, they have a huge choice of coffees, from filter to drip and espresso  as well but I figured I would start with a little cocktail and went for their “Blanco” Sangria (220 THB) which was so good I ended up having a second before moving onto a macchiato to finish with. Even though the restaurant was in the middle of a really busy brunch service, I was impressed at how efficient the waiting staff were and also how quickly the dishes were prepared as well, Its definitely in their interest to feed you quickly and keep the queues down I suppose but its done in such a way it seems organised and not rushed.

Bangkok is certainly not short of brunch choices and I still have plenty of those to discover but I was very impressed with Roast and would definitely revisit once I’ve done some more exploring!

I walked from Thonglor BTS but Soi 13 is a fair way down – directly opposite Iron Fairies in fact so you may be better off getting a taxi or Motor-Cy.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m making my 2014 goal to make eggs that look that good!
    Mmm mmm! xo

    1. beirutibrit says:

      🙂 it was pretty good! Definitely worth a visit before you leave!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Julia says:

    Perfect post for me today, thanks!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Hope you had a great brunch! You must try Rocket too!

Leave a Reply

