Me Juice, 3 Day Juice Cleanse

After a particularly heavy weekend involving a tweet-up with around 40 other Bangkok tweeters and bloggers, a dim sum and free flow prosecco brunch with the girls AND a night out on Yaowarat followed by cocktails and dessert at Opposite my body was in need of a break! Fortunately I had signed up to start a 3 day juice cleanse from Me Juice http://www.mejuicepress.com/ on the Monday morning and hoped this would help rejuvenate me. Me Juice is a Bangkok based company specializing in natural, cold-pressed, raw organic juices with a variety of different cleanse programs; the Fresh Start is a 1 meal replacement cleanse, Radiance Cleanse sees you replacing 2 meals per day and the Mega Cleanse is a full on juice cleanse you can do for 1, 3 or 6 days which is what I had chosen to do.

The idea behind a juice cleanse is that it will help rid you body of toxins, assist in weight loss, improve your metabolism and so forth and whilst such programs have their skeptics, I figured I didn’t have anything to lose and was hopeful I would see some positive results.

My 18 juices were delivered at around 9:30am on Monday morning and as I had actually woken up hungry (something that almost never happens!) I was more than ready for my first juice. The juices all have an aim “Green No1” was supposed to boost energy and was made with green apple, celery, cucumber, ginger, lemon, romaine lettuce, parsley and spirulina and I was surprised at how quickly this did indeed sate my hunger and at how pleasant it tasted!

The first day was easy and I really liked how there were so many different juices so it kept things interesting. By the mid evening I was pretty tired and had a relaxing night in, falling asleep earlier than usual and sleeping soundly until the next morning. I am a complete caffeine addict and need several shots of the strong stuff to get me going each day and this was where I was most worried of failing but I found I woke up feeling fresh and had had far more energy than normal. The only time I struggled on the second day was in the afternoon when a meeting over ran and I could feel my energy zapping until I was able to grab one of the juices, this time the “Tomato Delight” with tomato, carrot, celery, red pepper, lemon, cucumber and parsley – I was very glad for the savoury flavour of the juice.

I was really surprised that I just wasn’t hungry while on the program. I am surrounded by food all day and even visiting our bakery didn’t make me waver which I had not been expecting, especially as I have literally zero will power.

After a second incredibly good night’s sleep I was feeling great on the start of my third and final day and even managed to attend a drinks party in the evening where I managed to bypass all the delicious anti pasti and stuck faithfully to a glass of water until I could get home and have my final juice.

I found the whole juice cleanse a really interesting experience, I had not been at all sure I would be able to manage it but I did and not only that I actually enjoyed it! Other juices included the “Rock Pink” an anti inflammatory made with beetroot, pineapple, ginger and lemon and one of my favourites, the anti aging “I’m Passionate” made with carrot, passion fruit, sweet basil seed and celery.

I had around 11 different types over the 3 days which kept things interesting but you can select which juices you want on the website if you prefer. So what benefits did I see over the course of the cleanse and since finishing it? Well I definitely slept better than usual, of course eliminating caffeine will also have helped with that I’m sure but I was much fresher than usual and had natural energy rather than the stimulants I usually rely on.

My skin, which isn’t too bad usually definitely looked better and more importantly the dark bags under my eyes reduced owing to getting a better quality of sleep I suppose. I also felt less bloated and lost 3lbs which I know is only water but I am hoping that I will be able to work on this after seeing how much will power I do actually have!

Now that’s not to say I’m going to turn into a health food fanatic over night, anyone who reads my blog will know how into my food I am but it has encouraged me to make little changes like cutting back on my carbonated drinks and coffee in future which is a start at least! I will definitely do the cleanse again in the summer before heading back to Europe on holiday and would encourage anyone sitting on the fence about juice cleanses to give them a try – if I can do it, anyone can!

The lovely people at Me Juice gave me a discount off their standard price of the cleanse and for the next month, the first 10 people to sign up using the discount code BBcleanse2014 will receive 10% off their order  – what more incentive do you need?  Order Form https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1ZIgDu41OJSvZshcPap_Ssi9GRBuFNmEBg-pDHsvFCBc/viewform?usp=drive_web&edit_requested=true

6 Comments Add yours

  1. So glad to see it went well! Juice cleanses are great (despite the skeptics) but can be so time consuming so it’s lovely to see a company providing reasonably priced healthy juices to take the hassle away for you! Did you find it difficult or enjoyable having more free time due to the lack of meal prep / eating? xo

    1. beirutibrit says:

      You know it was easier than I was expecting, the juices were great and I still had one of them at the regular sort of meal times to keep a routine. I was definitely won over! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Mickey says:

    May i ask, how many ml. each bottle? I eat so much each meal and wondered if a bottle can keep me up from starving? Thank you for your time.

    1. beirutibrit says:

      They are available in 300ml and 500ml – mine were 300ml and I was surprised that they filled me up! I could not have managed the 500ml ones I don’t think! thanks for reading!

  3. Serena says:

    This sounds interesting. Have been thinking of a juice cleanse for a while now as I am really “anti-diet” but can manage a 3/5 days plan, as long as I am not starving. There are a few companies here in SG and they’re all quite expensive so trying to figure out if it’s worth it . Great to read about a fellow foodie experience with it though…I honestly wouldn’t trust a review by someone who is already a very clean eater or a health and fitness nut 😉

    1. beirutibrit says:

      I really liked the juices which made things easier, I would definitely do it again! You’d probably be fine with a one day one as you are so petite already 🙂

Leave a Reply

