Little Beast, Thonglor, Bangkok.

Having been so impressed with their collaborative dish with Opposite Mess Hall at the “Water for Leyte” charity dinner earlier in the month, I thought it was time to pay a visit to Little Beast https://www.facebook.com/littlebeastbar?rf=396481303722107 in Thonglor. The people behind Little Beast all spent time living in New York which is apparent in the speakeasy style dΓ©cor and menu and I can see Little Beast fitting right into Soho or Brooklyn somewhere but thankfully it is here in Bangkok instead.

I started off with a fantastic cocktail “A Bitter Sweet Thyme” (290 baht) made with Tanqueray, ruby grapefruit juice, vanilla and lemon thyme and worked my way through the menu. Most of the dishes are designed as small plates although they have a few larger dishes such as “Crispy Belly Porchetta with Eggplant Caponata, Harissa and Pickled Red Onions” (750 baht) and an amazing looking 400g “Australian Wagyu Ribeye with warm potatoes, mushroom and watercress salad” (2,200 baht) which I saw being delivered to a large group of friends celebrating a birthday who were sitting behind me.

I was pretty torn as to what to order as there were so many small plates that looked delicious but in the end I was able to narrow it down to 3 (in hindsight 2 would have been more than enough but I insisted that they should take the dishes away before I finished them all!)

Each dish is served whenever it is ready and so the first dish I received was the “Raisin and Pistachio Pork Sausage” (120 baht) from their charcuterie selection. The sweetness of the raisin and pistachio was countered really nicely by the tangy, crunchy pickled vegetables the sausage was served with – the sausages seemed to be home made too which always impresses me.

The “Steak Cut Fries with Truffle Aioli” (150 baht) were a last minute decision on my part and almost finished me off! An incredibly generous portion of thick cut, golden chips with a rich, yolky aioli with crumbled black truffle studding the top which was so good I could have eaten it on its own with a spoon!

Thankfully my last choice was far healthier, “Asparagus and Watercress Salad with Shaved Parmesan and Lemon Dressing” (180 baht) Usually when you order a salad with asparagus it is just a few measly spears with a lot of cheaper filler and so I was pleased that the salad was mostly composed of tiny asparagus spears with just a small handful of watercress, almost to knot the salad together.

I didn’t like the look of their wine by the glass (only one white and one red available) and so I tried a Danish beer “Stuykman Wit” (280 baht) from the Norrebro Bryghus microbrewery which had really interesting herbal notes from the coriander seeds that they add to the beer when it is brewing and it was a great match with the dishes I chose. I am definitely keen to return to try their brunch (Sundays only 11-3) as I’m sure the menu would be really interesting not to mention delicious too. Another great Thonglor discovery!

To find Little Beast head down Thonglor from the BTS and turn left onto Soi 11. At the end of the road you turn right and Little Beast is a little way up the road on the left.

Leave a Reply

