Hemmingways, Asok, Bangkok

I completely forgot that I hadn’t written up my visit to Hemmingways until I went back last week for a “tweet up” in order to meet other Bangkok based bloggers and tweeters. I originally visited Hemmingways a few months ago for a very late lunch/happy hour and happened upon this bar and restaurant on a small side street (soi 14) just by Asok BTS. Their happy hour runs from 3-7pm with bottled beer and stoli vodka/grants whisky available at 80thb, house wine at 90thb and 100 thb for a pint of draught beer. They also have a lot of specials where you can choose a drink and a snack for a fixed price too – 225thb for chilli salt squid and a glass of wine or chicken wings and a pint for example as well as a sandwich, burger or a pizza with a glass of wine or a pint of beer for 250thb.

In the end I didn’t actually go for any of these food specials, I ordered croquetas and patas bravas which I think were about 150thb each for decent sized portions and enjoyed a cool beer while I sat and used the free wifi and relaxed after a long day of exploring the neighbourhood.

It was a great place to have a tweet up as it is so centrally located and was big enough to hold the 20 or so people that arrived and even outside of happy hour the drinks were very reasonably priced and the upstairs bar area made for a good private party spot. I enjoyed meeting some fellow tweeps in Bangkok, I made most of my friends in Singapore this way and have already made plans to meet up with some people again. Twitter definitely makes it easier to settle into a new place as an “expat” and I for one am grateful for it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks again for coming to the tweetup!

    I really want to try the cheese platter at Hemmingways!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Thanks for organising!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

