The Golden Mount, Bangkok.

I was unsure as to what to do on my day off this week as I have been so tired recently but feel that sometimes staying in and doing nothing can actually make you more tired than actually getting up and doing something. As regular readers (of which there a few – quality over quantity!) will know, I am very active on twitter and one of the accounts I follow is @bangkoking (now @thailander) a rotation curation account which is run by a different bangkokian each week. I saw that this weeks curator is the co owner of a restaurant called the Seven spoons down on Chakkaphatdi Phong Rd which looked really interesting and I decided to head there for lunch. After tweeting the curator, she pointed out the proximity of the restaurant to the Golden Mount and so I thought I would combine the two and have a fun morning exploring old Bangkok.

The Golden Mount was originally conceived by Rama III (who reigned from 1824-1851) as a way to dispose of the earth which was dug out to expand the canal or Klong system and during this period one can only imagine how imposing this beautiful golden chedi would have seemed, gleaming in the Bangkok sun and dwarfing all before it.

As we are in the week of Loy Krathong, entrance to the Golden Mount (10baht) was waived but I still left a donation in one of the boxes at the top out of respect. Arriving shortly after 10 am there were a few people there but I was lucky to be able to walk the steps to the mount at my own pace and not be disturbed by others.

There is a market at the base of the mount this week for Loy Krathong as well which was very sleepy when I was there but I imagine if you were to head down there in the early evening this week it would be very entertaining indeed. I grabbed a taxi from Ratchathewi BTS which cost me 40baht and made the journey back via Klong (at the bargain price of 10 baht to Pratunam!) and had a really interesting morning exploring the back alleys and quiet streets which could not seem more removed from Ploenchit where I am based and it was just the tonic I needed.

The Golden Mount can be accessed daily between 7:30am and 5:30pm

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    I visited the GM a while back, and drove past it yesterday. It looks beautiful with the red cloth hung!

    1. beirutibrit says:

      Doesn’t it?! Really beautiful there and lovely to see Bangkok in a different light! Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

