Cafe Bicycle, Mahatun Plaza, BTS Ploenchit, Bankok *Now Closed*

I have been very lucky in that I have had so many friends come to Bangkok since I have moved here and spent a lovely day yesterday with friends re-visiting Chatuchak market before heading to Hyde and Seek for cocktails and onto Soi Polo for a great dinner. We ended up having rather a late night down on Soi 11 and I was in need of a good lunch today to shake off the evenings excesses.

I didn’t have to travel too far fortunately and persuaded a colleague to join me at Bicycle CafΓ© for a bite to eat. The menu focusses on salads and sandwiches with a daily changing western and local special as well as a few pasta dishes to round things off. I love avocado and have been enjoying how flavourful local avocados are as opposed to the bland, under ripe versions I tended to find in Singapore.

One of the sandwich options they have listed is avocado and pesto which I decided to go for with my friend choosing the soup of the day – pumpkin. The soup, she said was a bit disappointing in that it was chronically under seasoned and luke warm as opposed to piping hot which I imagine could have improved it.

My sandwich on the other hand was very pleasant, thick crusty bread smothered in a pesto which appeared to have been made from Thai basil from the slightly aniseedy taste. On top of this was half an avocado, red onions, courgettes and red peppers all of which were packed with flavour and I felt fairly virtuous knowing I was probably getting a good 2 of my 5 a day! With a couple of diet cokes, our total bill was 300 baht which is pretty good and I would be interested to return to see if their breakfasts are as good as the sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

