Arabesque, Sukhumvit Soi 2, Bangkok

One of the favourite places to hang out in Beirut was Falamnakis. Open 24 hours a day, you could grab a comfy sofa either inside or out in their beautiful garden and enjoy a shisha, glass or 2 of wine and a bite to eat for $30 or so. I would often go on my own, curl up with a book and spend a good part of the day relaxing there and since leaving Beirut I miss having somewhere to do that, although Blu Jazz and Sufis corner in Singapore were good finds.

I was in the mood for shisha the other night and fancied trying somewhere on Soi Arab but then I saw there is a place called Arabesque not far from the JW Marriot with a shisha garden and so thought I would give it a shot.

The garden there is certainly a nice enough spot to sit and enjoy a shisha in, although being Egyptian owned I had to settle for a Turkish coffee instead of a glass of wine. Not that I minded much as the coffee was one of the best Turkish coffees I have had since leaving Lebanon, sweetened ever so slightly with the cardamom giving off a beautiful aroma.

I ordered some of the sambousek to nibble on (little pastry crescents or triangles usually filled with minced lamb or in this case a salty, soft cheese and fresh herbs) and made use of the free wifi to catch up with friends via twitter. It was a nice enough spot to enjoy a shisha but I am sure Bangkok has better to offer…

Does anyone have a recommendation of somewhere I should try on Soi Arab? Better yet, is there anywhere (apart from NEST) that will let me enjoy a drink and a shisha at the same time?! I would love to hear any recommendations you may have!
http://arabesquebkk.com/

Leave a Reply

