Pak Klong Talad Flower Market, Bangkok

My first port of call when I took the Chao Praya express the other weekend was Tha Tien pier so I could walk through Pak Klong Talad on the way to Chinatown and Little India. Pak Klong Talad is Bangkoks largest flower market (wholesale and retail) and is open 24hours a day, 365 days of the year and whilst the best time to visit is in the early hours of the morning there was still plenty to see when I arrived there at around midday.
Markets stalls selling huge bunches of roses of every colour imaginable, orchids, lotus flowers and people making prayer offerings lined the streets and it was certainly a feast for the senses.

I also walked through a warehouse with stall holders selling all manner of fruits, vegetables and spices which I think may have been that Tha Tien market although I’m not too sure to be honest! Unsurprisingly the market can be pretty frenetic so if you want to take your time to wander around the stalls at leisure I would recommend visiting off peak like I did so as not to get in the way of the stall holders who are there to make money afterall!

Leave a Reply

