Bergs Burgers, Haji Lane, Singapore.

Bergs is a newer opening on Haji lane in the Arab St quarter of Singapore. I first heard about it via the blogpost here http://mylifeinsin.blogspot.sg/2013/01/bergs-burger-haji-lane-gourmet-burgers.html although I gather they have a couple of branches so I am somewhat “late” to the party in discovering them.

The small interior is decorated with fun, tongue in cheek posters advertising their different burgers and a large menu board from which you can select your meal. I decided I would try the “Good Falla” falafel burger, standard size (the Berg sized version must have been extremely generous by the looks of it!) which was served in a little brown bag with the (additional) side of fries.

The falafel was very good indeed, served simply with avocado and lemon dressing, I added the chilli sauce that came with my fries as there was no harissa (a minor quibble for what was by far the best falafel I have had in Singapore by a long shot, even if it was served as a burger!)

The well chosen beers are also available at happy hour prices which meant I was able to enjoy my VB (it was Australia day weekend after all) at just $6 a bottle which was a pleasant surprise and the generously sized $11 burger meant I was able to leave with change from my $20, another nice surprise!

I know you can’t really judge a burger bar on its vegetarian burgers, but the quality of the ingredients used is admirable and the attention to design detail is also pretty impressive too. I will definitely head back towards Bergs on one of my many visits to Haji lane, and am sure (and hope) we will see more branches popping up in no time at all.

Leave a Reply

