Earnest Restaurant/Hawker Centre, Allenby Road, Singapore

A more recent discovery is the little Hawker Centre on the corner of Jalan Basar and Allenby road, a small collection of stalls serving everything from wonton noodles to laksa. The wonton noodle soup I chose when I visited was delicious, clear chicken broth with green leafy vegetables, fried shallots and a generous handful of pork and shrimp wontons that I could see them making fresh while I waited. The shrimp were still nice and firm and the wontons themselves had a great al dente texture to them – another great little find I need to visit more frequently, some sort of Pavlovian response in me makes me crave chicken broth based dishes when I’m tired or under the weather and  this wonton soup is like a hug in a bowl 🙂

Leave a Reply

