The Roebuck, Chiswick, London

Normally when I visit a group of great friends who live in South Ealing, we head to the Ealing Park Tavern http://www.ealingparktavern.com/ as it has been a favourite over the years. On this occasion they opted to take me to the Roebuck in Chiswick http://www.theroebuckchiswick.co.uk/ instead as they had been to the EPT the week before. I wasn’t overly excited to be honest, I lived in Chiswick a few years back and the Roebuck was never on my radar food wise but as they recommended it I figured I was going to be in for a good meal. The dining room was packed, perhaps a bit too tightly and there was a real buzz in the room -not bad for a Thursday night, they definitely seem to be doing the business and after seeing the menu i could understand why. Comprising around 6 starters and 6 mains, with a good mix of the highly seasonal and the classic all of which looked appealing and left me spoilt for choice. In the end I chose the fried egg and brown shrimp which came with a good handful of samphire (weirdly not mentioned on the menu as this is the sort of thing I would definitely be advertising) and for my main course I ordered the sea trout with crushed potatoes and salsa verde. We also shared a platter of charcuterie amongst us, a good selection with plump radishes and celeriac remoulade garnishes which we demolished in no time. With a few bottles of wine, a couple of beers and coffees our bill came to £45 each which I found very reasonable indeed, the ingredients were top quality and there was definite care  and skill in their preparation and presentation. This little corner of west London isn’t short on good places to enjoy this sort of gastro pub style cooking but i wouldn’t hesitate in adding the Roebuck to that list. (Apologies for the poor lighting and out of focus photos here – lighting wasn’t great and whilst I like taking photos, dining out is more about enjoying what you are eating than composing the perfect photo for me)

Leave a Reply

