Duck Soup, Soho, London

In the last few years, a whole host of new restaurants have opened up in my old stomping ground of Soho. On my recent trip back home I decided that I would give Duck soup http://www.ducksoupsoho.co.uk/Ducksoup.html a go, having seen some good reviews back when they opened last year. The restaurant is small, most of the seating is around a large central bar, perfect for dining at on your own as i was on this occasion. The menu is scribbled on loose pieces of coloured notebook paper and changes daily in order to make the most of what is available at the market, taking inspiration from around Europe. Asparagus wasn’t available the lunch I was there (the delivery arrived as I was leaving) so I opted for the fried courgette flowers and a couple of gulls eggs along with a couple of slices of delicious home made sour dough bread and creamy French butter. I was especially delighted that gulls eggs were still in season, they are a particular favourite of mine and having been overseas for so long these were to me my first gulls eggs for two years. On that occasion I ate them in the delightfully quaint bar at the Stafford Hotel after which I proceeded to buy a dozen at the wonderful butchers Allens http://www.allensofmayfair.co.uk/ around the corner, only to carry on drinking throughout the afternoon, then night, quite forgetting they were loose in my (borrowed) Mulberry handbag – eggs do not clean easily out of leather and the smell lingered in the lining but not enough to put me off enjoying these in future. I enjoyed Duck Soup, my light lunch with a glass of wine came to around £30 which wasn’t bad at all, although I was not convinced by the “natural” wines, the Southern Italian white I chose seemed a bit dull and flat, maybe I should have asked for advice, the staff certainly seemed pretty knowledgeable. I’d definitely go back.

Leave a Reply

